I’ve already expressed my love for music in previous postings and I probably won’t be able to fully express the importance of music to my life and soul. 

Even though my prefered type of music is rock and roll I have been listening to anything I can get my hands on lately (since getting my palm a 1GB card and filling it with music).  I’ve really enjoyed the new Gnarls Barkley, and Kanye West as they do hip hop in a different way at least to my ear.  I also am enjoying the new Tool and some George Thorogood.  Selecting all the music on my palm and turning on the random option has really showed me how eclectic my tastes can be (Kanye West followed by Guns and Roses followed by the Science friday podcast).  I’m so addicted to having music fill my house I’ve been looking at finding a way to afford the sonos system so that every room in the house has speakers and is playing the same song throughout the house (mmmm  surround stereo house). 

My tastes have changed so much over the years and makes it fun to listen to some of my old cd’s.  I grew up on 80’s rock and roll (Gn’R, Metallica, Pantera, etc.) and moved on to punk rock in my late teens and early adulthood.  I spent most of my time in my early 20’s at punk rock shows (pitting of course), every weekend without fail me and my friends would go to a backyard or find a club playing some punk rock.  During that same time I was introduced to ska and reggae which I enjoyed as well and filled in on the weekends we couldn’t find a punk rock show.  Now I just listen to whatever I get my hands on (this habit is getting a little expensive) that I think I might enjoy, viva the internet for providing a resource to find talent I wouldn’t find otherwise.

Music plays so many roles for me it’s amazing.  From entertainment to escape from things I don’t want to feel at the time to deeping my feelings at the time the list goes on and on.  Even as I write this I have music playing the the background.  I’m so glad to be able to share it with my friends to discover what they enjoy an to share what I’m currently into. 

Thanks for reading the ramblings

To read other’s ramblings go here.

