my first tat

This is my first tattoo. 

I got it when I was 20.  I remember showing it off for the first time, out in front of the Troubador in Hollywood, and having the reaction of my friends be either "Damn!" or "Whoa!" (leaning back, eyes wide, mouths covered).  That made me smile from ear to ear.  When I got this tattoo that's the reaction I wanted.  I wanted something about me to be impressive. 

As I have written about in the past my self esteem as a child and teenager was very low.  Looking back now on getting this tattoo I would have to say that it altered my body in such a way that I lessened my shame of what I looked like.  If I had a shirt on I didn't stand out but when I did I definately stood out.  It gave me a reason to take my shirt off while running around the mosh pit or at the pool.  I no longer worried about what people said about my extra wieght (at the time I wieghed 280+ pounds) because they wouldn't talk about that they would talk about the tattoo.

When I got the tattoo I got it to identify myself strongly with the group of friends  that I had at the time.  When I got it I wanted something that said something about me and my friends would be impressed with.  I'm glad with what I chose for so many reasons as these two words define me on so many levels.  I've had a job either with my father or on my own since I was 10.  I'm very grateful, now, to my father for teaching my a good work ethic which has paid so many dividends.  This tattoo reminds me daily that a job well done is it's own biggest reward.  If my only claim to fame is being a hard worker that's just find by me.  Even while doing yoga this tattoo is my focus point as I look in the mirror.  So even though now that I'm older and the meaning of the tattoo has changed it's still my favorite. 

To see other's tat's check out self portrait challenge.

